Category: Execution.

Task Management

Tasks can be added to key results to break them down into manageable assignments and projects.

For example, if your key result is to increase your number of social media followers from 100 to 1,000 you may task yourself with creating a posting schedule or “liking” and responding to at least half of the comments that you receive.

To access your tasks, select the “Tasks” section from the toolbar on the left-hand side of the screen. Then select “My Tasks.”

Once on the “My Tasks” page, select “Create” in the top left corner of the page to create a task.

After selecting “Create”, you’ll find a text box where you can describe the task that you’d like to create.

A task could be “Create Schedule for Social Media Posts”, which would go in the “Describe your Task” text box.

Once you press “Save”, the task will be placed under the “Not Started” column.

To make any changes or to add any details to your task, you can click on the name of the task to open up the “View Task” window.

On this page, you can adjust the name, due date, priority level, who the task is assigned to, and the status. The due date for the task can be scheduled for any day regardless of the target date for an objective or key result.

The priority level can also be adjusted to any of the following by clicking on the drop-down menu: High, Medium, Low, Medium-Low, and Urgent.

The task is automatically assigned to you in the “View Task” window, however, you have the option to assign it to someone else by clicking on the magnifying glass next to your name.

You can either scroll to who you’d like to assign the task to or you can search for their name in the search bar. When the assignment is completed, you will receive a notification.

The status for the task can also be adjusted based on the completion progress that has been made. Using the drop-down menu, the status can be changed to Not Started, Scheduled, In Progress, or Completed.

You can also associate the task with a specific key result. When you select “Add to Key Result”, you’ll see a window with your management’s OKRs, your organization’s OKRs, your individual OKRs, or selected OKRs.

After finding the objective you’re looking for, select the objective you’ll find the key results associated with the objective underneath.

Click the checkbox and press “Add” to associate the task with a key result. You’ll then see the Key Result you selected under the “Associated Key Results” heading on the view page.

Once you’ve updated your view page, you can view your tasks at any time on the “Tasks” page, or, if you associated it with a key result, you can view it under the “Tasks” tab on your key result page.

Tasks that have been created and assigned to you are also visible on the “My Tasks” page.

You have the option to either accept or reject the task that has been assigned to you. To accept the task, click the check mark. To reject the task, click the “x.” If you accept the task, it will show up with the other tasks that you’ve created for yourself.

How do I create a recurring task?

You might have a task that needs to be completed on a recurring schedule. For example, you may want to create a task to edit and revise your completed blog posts each week. To do so, you would create the task you’re looking to repeat.

Once the task is created, open up the view window to make edits and adjustments to your task. The view window can be accessed by clicking on the name of your task.

Once the view window is open, click on the “Repeat” toggle. You’ll then have access to another window that allows you to schedule how often you’d like your task to repeat.

The repeat default is set to weekly. With the weekly option, the task will repeat every week on the day that is selected. However, by selecting the drop-down menu next to “Repeats”, you will also find the option for the task to repeat daily, monthly, or yearly, as well.

No matter how often your task is scheduled to repeat, you can select an end date for the recurring task if needed. If you’d like the task to occur uninterrupted, you can select “Never.” Or, maybe you only need this task to recur every week for a month, you could choose to end it after four or five occurrences. You also have the option to select a specific date for the task to end.

If you want to modify your “Repeat” settings at any time you can do so by opening the view window and selecting “Modify.”

What is the best way to manage high priority tasks for myself and my organization?

All tasks in Profit are labeled with a priority status. The default label is “high” priority, but tasks can be labeled as: Urgent, High, Medium, Medium-Low, or Low priority.

Tasks that are extremely important may be labeled as urgent or high priority. This is a way to help you stay organized and visualize which tasks are most important and how close you are to completing each task.

You might have a high priority task that you need to assign to someone else. If you assigned a task to someone and they rejected it, you can reassign that task to someone else.

To reassign a task, go to the action center by selecting the flag symbol at the top of the page.

Once in the action center, you’ll see a menu on the right side of the screen. Once there, select the “Tasks” section from the drop-down. Then, click “Assigned Tasks.”

You’ll then see the tasks that you’ve assigned and if they have been accepted or rejected.

If someone rejected the task or was unable to complete it in time, select the person icon to the right of the task name to assign it to another person.

Here you’ll find a list of employees in your company.

This allows you to reach out to other employees if you have a task that you might not be able to manage. The “My Tasks” screen combined with the ability to assign and reassign tasks provides you with the opportunity to monitor your own progress and ask for help if you need it to ensure that a task is completed.

How do I manage and stay on top of tasks that I’ve assigned to others?

The action center is Profit’s central notifications center. This is the space where you’ll be reminded of check-ins and tasks. If you’ve assigned a task to another person, the task will appear in both your action center notifications and their’s.

When your task is complete, click the check mark to the right of the name and it will disappear from the action center.

If you want to view tasks that have been completed, go to the “My Tasks” page. Once there, select the filter under “My Tasks.” A drop down menu will appear with a list of tasks that are currently visible to you. Select “Completed Tasks.”

Tasks that have been marked as “Completed” in the action center will then be visible on the “My Tasks” page.

The action center will also notify you when tasks that you have assigned to others have been completed.

Related Articles